It CAN work out well?

It struck me here one of these mornings. I cycle to work, and I live in a country with lots of weather. Most of it is rain, some is below zero. At 0530 in the morning, I found that the rain had turned to ice. When there are snow, you know it can be dangerous. Ice is a bit more tricky…
Well, it happens, and there has been a few slippery mornings lately.  As my trip to work is 30 kilometers, I cannot just change my mind and take the car, the way cycling home again can easily be quite long. And I have no one to call, my husband takes the plane to another city every Monday morning.

The last morning with icy road, it struck me how easy it is to expect for the worst to happen. Me sliding on the ice ending in a ditch where no one ever finds me. It makes my shoulders raise and level with my ears, all those muscles I need for the ride to go well are as tight as never before. I loose the cool control I need pass the icy bits.

The experience that I should remember, is that I actually have made it, quite a few mornings this year. I’ve never ended in the ditch.

I have not learned to trust my ability to get through the tough spots.

The same goes for the situation at work. I expect that it will be crap, that some of us are going to leave. Even though there are four people hired in after I started, I expect to be made redundant. (Not sure how this affect my muscles, but it does affect my head).

Could those of you who have found the anti negativity button, please tell me where it is? 😉
DSC01144

2 thoughts on “It CAN work out well?

  1. I cycle most days too, in all weather. I once came off my bike on black ice. The physical injuries were just minor grazes, but it was a shock, and a shock that has stayed with me for years. For a few days after my off (no ditch was involved, I just ended up in a heap!), getting back on my bike was hard because I would experience only what I can describe as flash-backs. These were just sensations in my head of me being on my bike and it slipping out from under me. I battled through these episodes, but to this day I am extra cautious when cycling on cold morning and on slippery roads… just like I am extra cautious when approaching pedestrians, following the time one stepped out in front of me without looking.

    That all sounds quite negative I know, but the positive point is that us regular cyclists get on our bikes out of routine, sure anything could hinder our ride to or from our destination, but generally our independence will assist us on the way… the mantra “be prepared” is a good one too… like having a pump and spare inner tube for those flat days, and a spare pair of socks for the wet days 😀

  2. Thanks for commenting 🙂 I know how hard it is to getting back on the bike, had an accident going uphill in a French wine field… Hadn’t tasted any… Hurt my neck and has a cronic headache… So it took a few years to try again.
    Today I had a wonderful trip home, did a detour, total 50 km, and 750 meters ascent/descent just before coming home. Of course there were snow and ice on the top. As I climbed, I used the rhythm of “I-will-ne-ver-give-up-I-will-keep-this-pace” to keep going, and seeing the ice crystals on the road going down I went “ohmygodohmygodohmygod” keeping a very tight grip on the brakes… 🙂
    Quite typical for me, I think. As prepared as I possibly can be.

Your thoughts here:

