Acnowledgment, sort of…

Sometimes, if something very bad has happened, people just hide it away. I did that too. As I have written about earlier, I started remembering after he died. I don’t know how many years it took for me to understand that all these horrible things actually did happen. Still, if a flashback has sort of new content, I doubt that it is true. I think it just can’t be…
I have been very open about everything with my youngest daughter, and she discussed this with her cousin, my niece. Both of them are grown up. My niece then told my daughter about anmemory she has, of him, my father. Nothing very bad, really, but an incident when she as a child (she was seven when he died) had THAT feeling. That one, when even as a small child she knew, that this is uncomfortable, intrusive, wrong.
I am so sorry she had to have this memory. But it is also a relief for me.
It’s not me.
It happened. My story is true, my feelings are not crazy, there is logic.

8 thoughts on “Acnowledgment, sort of…

  1. Definitely – your feelings are not crazy.
    Validation is so valuable, sorry about your niece, but so helpful for you.
    Take care. xxx

  2. This post brings up a lot of feelings that I have trouble expressing. Tears are streaming down my face, because I experienced a similar situation with my aunt. Relief, and yet, so much sorrow, too, and still feelings of incredibility that it really was true…

Your thoughts here:

