Did someone sing you lullabies?

Slumber Cat Overhead

Now I only sing for my cat, she doesn’ even try to listen…(Photo credit: Taekwonweirdo)


I hope so. I always sang a scary one for my girls, they fell asleep with a giggle.
Can’t remember anyone singing for me.

Lullabye

Rest your drowsy cheek,
My girl, quiet on my
Prickling arm. Dream
Your dream of lapping
Waters cresting on this
Human form. The tides
Are breathing, you and
I, in your small clench
And my tight heart.
Tonight we fill the
Grave with stones and
Slumber in the summer’s
Dew. And all I make
Are promises which can
Not come true. I will
Not give you away, my
Girl, I will never make
You cry, nor morning
Find us far apart, nor
This hand gone away
From you.

Mike Finley
2 thoughts on “Did someone sing you lullabies?

Your thoughts here:

