Another strong movie; Incendies

Incendies

Incendies (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As we are into movies, this one should have trigger warnings all over. It is about a pair of grown up twins left with the request from their dying mother, to find her story, their father, and their brother. She was once an immigrant from the Middle East, and a victim of rape.

She never told her story to anyone. But as she is dying, she needs for them to know. The movie takes you through some really rough patches, and the truth is nothing but gruesome.

This is one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. There are so much I can relate to, though I never grew up in Lebanon or experienced war. But all those other things, her feelings, the flashbacks, her life as a victim, the secrets. ‘Incendies‘ is a reward winning movie, and I thought about it this morning, since it seems most of my readers are English speaking, you might not have heard of this one. It’s in French, but a Canadian movie.

I can’t say “enjoy”, because the story is so strong. But I can say “have a cry, and be touched”, and “learn more about abuse, PTSD, life, choices”.

I love this movie. It gives me hope. I guess it is partly the reason for this blog. If I should die, my story is in here. I dared to tell someone, and I have shared this blog with my youngest daughter. They will never have to dig so deep for family history and all the reasons why, as I have.

Have you seen it? What did you think?

5 thoughts on “Another strong movie; Incendies

Your thoughts here:

