Some colour to brighten up your day?

Can you remember opening a brand new box of crayons? I can. I would just look at them, see how the different shades of red shifted into pink or orange, and then to yellow. My brother would just throw them all in a big cake tin we had. Mix the old ones together with the new ones. I could never do that. I would keep them in the exact same place in the original box, and open and close carefully, so that it wouldn’t get torn.

If it was a big box, I would perhaps make a small dot, marking the specific spot for each of the crayons. So that they would get back where they belong.

Amazing how colours can affect your mood. Black is for sorrow, white means clean, orange (my favourite) is energy, red is both love and affection, blue… well blue.

Don’t know why yellow got such a bad rumour, at least in my country, it means cowards, and green is new. Sometimes in a negative context.

I had to think about colours today… Feeling a bit down, as one of my aunts are very poorly. There are only two of my father’s siblings left, living here in my town. This is not the one who attended the summer party, though considering the amount of wine an 89 year old women can pour down, she probably felt rather… blue… the day after. This is about the oldest one, and the way it looks now, she won’t see much of the summer coming up. They told me she might die anytime. But they have said that before… So I don’t know. She is 94. We haven’t spoken for years, I have some problems dealing with his family, and so I just don’t. This is where I should probably investigate my feelings on forgiveness. Someone did know, maybe not to what extent wrong things happened in the old house with the large garden, but I can’t help thinking that someone could have done something. She was the next door neighbour.

My youngest daughter told me that when they were kids, I had a really large box with crayons, watercolours, felt tip pens and colour pencils. She remembered it as a lovely childhood memory. She might be a bit like me, that one!

Update:
Just as I was publishing this, my old aunt died. How strange is that?

23 thoughts on “Some colour to brighten up your day?

  1. I used to love getting my new stationary just before the start of the school year.The new books and pencils and yes,all the colored crayons!
    I’m sorry to hear about your aunt.I hope she isn’t in pain.

  2. Hi there. So sorry your aunt is not doing well. I am taking care of my sick mom, so I understand how you feel. Well…today is a new day, and maybe you will feel better as the day gets on its way. Blessings to you.

  3. I am so sorry to read about your aunt…how serendipitous our moments are. Perhaps her color was blue – not just from too much alcohol, but from that which she regretted. I kinda think regret is blue as well. Who knows what color today will be for you, though I hope that it has the pastels which I associate with peace..

  4. The memory you have of the crayons is beautiful. I wish I had memories like that. Perhaps one day they’ll come back to me…

    I’m sorry about your loss. Losing people is always hard, even people who we aren’t close to at the time of their death or people we have mixed feelings about. Loss is never easy. My thoughts are with you.

  5. Do you know what?
    I still have a special order that each new set of colored pencils MUST be replaced in.
    They just look wrong any other way!
    And the smell of a new set of pencils or paints . . . delightful – the aroma of colours!
    P.S. I send you the light of comfort in your loss ♡

  6. Your post evokes senses of memory and loss. The memories are so vivid and then you share the sense of loss, and maybe regret. Forgiveness is also there- hold on to that. A moving post.

  7. I am just writing to make you know what a magnificent encounter my cousin’s daughter encountered browsing yuor web blog. She mastered a wide variety of pieces, which included how it is like to have a wonderful teaching mindset to make many people without difficulty master certain advanced subject matter. You truly did more than our expected results. Many thanks for distributing these great, dependable, educational and as well as unique thoughts on this topic to Lizeth.

Your thoughts here:

